ltj logo link to home page
ieee logo


JLT Outstanding Reviewer Award

This award is presented by the Journal's Editor in Chief to reviewers who stand out for the ability to provide timely, in-depth reviews of a significant number of submissions, thereby playing a crucial role in fulfilling the journal's mission to disseminate cutting-edge, high-quality research. The award recognizes researchers who consistently provided comprehensive, insightful, high-quality reviews over the course of a year.

JLT Best Paper Award

This award is given annually by the Journal’s Steering and Coordinating Committee to the top-cited original papers published in the Journal two to three years prior to the award. As such, the award given in 2023 takes into account all original papers published in the Journal of Lightwave Technology in 2021. A variety of citation metrics and databases are used by the Committee to determine the winner.

Award Winners

2021 JLT Award

MoS2 Functionalized Multicore Fiber Probes for Selective Detection of Shigella Bacteria Based on Localized Plasmon

by Santosh Kumar; Zhu Guo; Ragini Singh; Qinglin Wang; Bingyuan Zhang; Shuang Cheng; Feng-Zhen Liu; Carlos Marques; Brajesh Kumar Kaushik; Rajan Jha

2020 JLT Award

800G DSP ASIC Design Using Probabilistic Shaping and Digital Sub-Carrier Multiplexing

by Han Sun, Mehdi Torbatian, Mehdi Karimi, Robert Maher, Sandy Thomson, Mohsen Tehrani, Yuliang Gao, Ales Kumpera, George Soliman, Aditya Kakkar, Mohammad Osman, Ziad Elsahn, Clayton Doggart, Weikun Hou, Shailesh Sutarwala, Yuejian Wu, Mohammad Reza Chitgarha, Vikrant Lal, Huan-Shang Tsai, Scott Corzine, Jiaming Zhang, John Osenbach, Sanketh Buggaveeti, Zulfikar Morbi, Miguel Iglesias Olmedo, Irene Leung, Xian Xu, Parmijit Samra, Vince Dominic, Steve Sanders, Mehrdad Ziari, Antonio Napoli, Bernhard Spinnler, Kuang-Tsan Wu, Parthiban Kandappan

2019 JLT Award

Advanced adaptive photonic RF filters with 80 taps based on an integrated optical micro-comb source

by Xingyuan Xu, Mengxi Tan, Jiayang Wu, Thach G. Nguyen, Sai T. Chu, Brent E. Little, Roberto Morandotti, Arnan Mitchell, and David J. Moss

2018 JLT Award

End-to-end Deep Learning of Optical Fiber Communications

by Boris Karanov, Mathieu Chagnon, Félix Thouin, Tobias A. Eriksson, Henning Bülow, Domaniç Lavery, Polina Bayvel, Laurent Schmalen

2018 JLT Award

Kramers-Kronig Receivers for 100-km Datacenter Interconnects

by Xi Chen, Cristian Antonelli, Sethumadhavan Chandrasekhar, Gregory Raybon, Antonio Mecozzi, Mark Shtaif, Peter Winzer

JLT Award 2017

SSBI Mitigation and the Kramers–Kronig Scheme in Single-Sideband Direct-Detection Transmission With Receiver-Based Electronic Dispersion Compensation

by Zhe Li, Sezer Erkilinc, Kai Shi, Eric Sillikens, Lidia Galdino, Benn Charles Thomsen, Polina Bayvel, and Robert Killey

JLT Award 2016

Rate Adaptation and Reach Increase by Probabilitically Shaped 64 QAM: An Experimental Demonstration

by Fred Buchali, Laurent Schmalen, Patrick Schulte, Wilfried Idler, Georg Boecherer, Fabien Steiner

JLT Award 2015

Replacing the Soft-decision FEC Limit Paradigm in the Design of Optical Communication Systems

by Alex Alvarado, Erik Agrell, Domanic Lavery, Robert Maher, and Polina Bayvel

JLT Award 2015

VCSEL Based Interconnects for Current and Future Data Centers

by Jim Tatum, Deepa Gazula, Luke Graham, James Guenter, Ralph Johnson, Jonathan King, Gary Landry, Ilya Lyubomirsky, Andy MacInnes, Edward Shaw, Kasyapa Balemarthy, Roman Shubochkin, Durgesh Vaidya, Man Yan and Frederick Tang

JLT Award 2014

Monolithic Silicon Integration of Scaled Photonic Switch Fabrics, CMOS Logic, and Device Driver Circuits

by B. G. Lee, A. V. Rylyakov, W. M. Green, S. Assefa, C. W. Baks, R. Rimolo-Donadio, D. M. Kuchta, M. H. Khater, T. Barwicz, C. Reinholm, E. Kiewra, S. M. Shank, S. L. Schow, and Y. A. Vlasov

JLT Award 2013

Time- and Wavelength-Division Multiplexed Passive Optical Network (TWDM-PON) for Next-Generation PON Stage 2 (NG-PON2)

by Luo, Yuanqiu; Zhou, Xiaoping; Effenberger, Frank; Yan, Xuejin; Peng, Guikai; Qian, Yinbo; Ma, Yiran

JLT Award 2012

Mode-Division Multiplexing Over 96 km of Few-Mode Fiber Using Co-herent 6x6 MIMO Processing

by R. Ryf, S. Randel, A. Gnauck, C. Bolle, A. Sierra, S. Mumtaz, M. Esmaeelpour, E. Burrows, R. Essiambre, P. Winzer, D. Peckham, A. McCurdy, and R. Lingle, Jr.

JLT Award 2012

Modeling of the Impact of Nonlinear Propagation Effects in Uncompen-sated Optical Coherent Transmission Links

by A. Carena, V. Curri, G. Bosco, P. Poggiolini, and F. Forghieri.

JLT Award 2011

Elastic Bandwidth Allocation in Flexible OFDM-Based Optical Networks

by K. Christodoulopoulos, I. Tomkos, and E. A. Varvarigos.

JLT Award 2011

On the Performance of Nyquist-WDM Terabit Superchannels Based on PM-BPSK, PM-QPSK, PM-8QAM or PM-16QAM Subcarriers

by G. Bosco, V. Curri, A. Carena, P. Poggiolini, and F. Forghieri.

Douglas Hargis
Phone +1 732 562 6829

Sonal Parikh
Phone +1 732 465 5859

General Inquires

IEEE Photonics Society
445 Hoes Lane, Piscataway, NJ 08855-1331

© Copyright 2024 IEEE - All rights reserved. A not-for-profit organization, IEEE is the world's largest technical professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for the benefit of humanity.